Alice Springs offers a wide range of primary, secondary and tertiary education opportunities

There are 19 government (public) and non-government (private) schools/colleges, including two dedicated to indigenous students, and seven pre-schools.

There is also a variety of schools providing education in the context of a religious direction.

Higher education and employment opportunities are enabling students to fully complete their studies in Alice Springs and put their skills to work here.

Northern Territory schools have a transition period between pre-school and Year 1 to help prepare children for formal learning.


Pre-schools are an integral part of most neighbourhood primary schools offering half-day sessions for 4 and 5 year old children.

Students progress from Transition to Year 1 when assessed as being ready (they must also be the age of five), and then progressively move through to Year 6.


Yipirinya School provides indigenous culture-based primary education.

The Alice Springs School of the Air is available for children in remote areas.


Secondary school education is divided into Middle and Senior Secondary categories, with the Middle category encompassing Grades 7 to 9 and the Senior 10 to 12.

Senior secondary students study courses leading to the award of the Northern Territory Certificate of Education, which is recognised as an entry qualification for all Australian universities and colleges.

Alice Springs has six government and non-government secondary schools.


Secondary education for years 7 to 9 (middle years) is provided by one government school, Centralian Middle School, and at three private schools, St Philip’s College (which provides boarding facilities), Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College and Yirara College.

Yirara College provides curriculum to Year 10 for remote area indigenous students.

The curriculum for years 10 to 12 (senior years) is taught at Centralian College, Our Lady of the Sacred Heart College and St Philip’s College.

Students can take courses accredited by the NT Board of Studies and the Senior Secondary Assessment Board of South Australia (SSABSA).

A wide range of courses accredited by the NT Board of Studies is available in Year 11 to prepare students for Year 12 courses.


In addition to its Senior Secondary courses, the Alice Springs Campus of the Charles Darwin University is also a multi-sector institution offering courses in TAFE and Higher Education.

Details of courses etc are available on the university website.

The Centre for Appropriate Technology was established in 1980 as part of the (then) Community College of Central Australia, the Centre provides a range of services to encourage and help Aboriginal people enhance their quality of life on remote communities.

In doing so, the Centre offers training in a number of trade-based skills as well as researching, developing and making a range of products appropriate to the lifestyle of Aboriginal communities.